A note on stress

When Little Miss M’s anxiety levels are particularly high she becomes very demanding and intense. She’ll want my constant attention whether it be by playing her games or watching her do something, she’ll need to be in constant contact with me, either holding hands, sat extremely close, her leg across my lap etc. or calling out to me constantly to do something or to come when I move to another room. She’ll need everything done for her and will constantly ask for things in a particularly demanding way.

She does some of these things in moderation most days as anxiety fluctuates but when they are particularly obvious and intense, I know it’s a sign that her anxiety and stress levels are very high and she’s in survival mode and only has enough executive function and energy to express her needs in this way.

During these times my stress levels increase too, my patience is stretched and it’s exhausting. The lack of personal space is difficult as well. It’s hard to stay calm when all this builds up inside so I try and express how I feel wherever possible. Saying it out loud or writing it down is good, sharing it with others is even better and respecting my natural feelings to the intense pressure I’m under is so important. It’s only natural to feel stressed under intense pressure after all and acknowledging that and giving myself a break for feeling it helps me to more easily express it, which allows my stress to reduce so I am in a better state of mind and can continue to support Little Miss M to deal with her own natural feelings to her own intense pressure so she too can reach a better state of mind.

You see, she’s only doing what comes naturally to her very specific make-up, just like I am. Her feelings might display differently to mine and not in conventional ways and may be triggered more often than mine and by less obvious pressures but they are no less real and deserve the same respect and compassion mine or anyone else’s do.

I value my moments of stress because they give me a glimpse into how Little Miss M feels and help me appreciate how difficult things can be for her when conditions aren’t just right for her needs.

The stress caused by the pressure to be constantly available for her during this time and the lack of personal freedom I feel, must come close to the pressure she feels from everyday things which are out of her control.

I see life through her eyes for a moment and this inside knowledge serves us both well. She’s better understood which leads to more compassionate support for her and I apply the compassion I have for her to myself, ensuring my own feelings are honoured and respected, making everything easier to deal with.

There’s lots of other ways to combat stress but, for me, this mind-set is the most beneficial. Living with PDA can be challenging and stressful for both parent and child but acknowledging and respecting these natural feelings and being able to express and share them with compassionate support enables us to push past the resistance stress can cause in the moment and using my own experiences of stress to see my child’s perspective keeps the compassion flowing for her and for myself.

 

 

 

 

3 comments on “A note on stress

  1. jilllamb3 says:

    BIG HUGS SWEETHEART XX

    Liked by 1 person

  2. pe says:

    Big hug and love to you both xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

